Couch 2 5K, Exercise, Lifestyles

Couch 2 5k: Week One

Have you guys heard of the Couch 2 5K app? It’s basically an 8 week programme designed to get you from doing no exercise or running, sitting on the couch to being able to run 5K or 30 minutes continuously.

Well as I am looking to up my exercise and basically get fitter overall I downloaded the app and, along with my mum, have started doing the programme it recommends as a way of getting fitter and also for joint motivation. There are a few versions of the app around, so there are plenty to find and choose if you are interested – my mum has an NHS choices ones but mine is different – same workout programme though, we checked.

So I completed the first week on Tuesday and while it was definitely tiring and my legs ached after the first couple of sessions, particularly the first one, I do have to say that it is not that bad. Inthe first week you do three days of runs.

In each run you do a 5 minute brisk walk to warm up, then you alternate eight times between 1 and a half minutes of walking and 60 seconds of jogging followed by a 5 minute cool down – we have tended to walk it off to get home and then stretch out. I do however have to admit my mum has pushed us a little bit more in the cool down with a couple of extra runs, she is fitter than I am. I am not a natural runner.

But the experience for this week has been enjoyable and the app is easy to listen to and follow while you are running – my only issue is I have to hold my phone which is a bit cumbersome! I need a holder, so far though I am feeling positive and it is nice to think I have done 30 mins of exercise three times this week and you know what, it really wasn’t hard to fit in!

I will update on Week 2 – if I survive!

xoxo

Leave a Reply

