Exercise, Lifestyles

Couch 2 5K: Week Four

So week four was hard, really hard. I didn’t find it a breeze, or easy, but then I guess that I am not supposed to as it meant to be a gear changer. A step up halfway through the programme.

Here is what each day entailed:

  • Brisk 5 Min Walk to start
  • Jog for 3 Mins then Walk 90 Secs, Jog 5 Mins then walk 2.5Mins and then Repeat.
  • Finish with 5 Min Cool Down.

I always think the above doesn’t sound like a lot but each work out amounts to about 28-35minutes work out each time and then when you throw in my Mum adding extra sessions at the end this usually extends the whole thing by another 10 minutes or so – then I get to stretch. I love the stretch session.

But I really felt the shift this week and it definitely wasn’t until the end of the second day and then the third that I felt, if not comfortable, that I was making progress and could carry on for longer. But I am still enjoying the process and during last week when I was helping out at the festival I missed the running. I had to get in all my days before it started as I knew I wouldn’t get evening time.

I never saw myself as a runner, or someone who could enjoy it, but I am and I like that version of me……hell, we even discussed that once we’ve got a routine, have done a few 5K’s that we may progress to the Couch 2 10K programme. I need to get through this one first though!

2 thoughts on “Couch 2 5K: Week Four”

Leave a Reply

