Couch 2 5K, Exercise

Couch 2 5K: Week Five & Six

I have been horribly dis-organised this month and have not had time to update as regularly as I meant to, apologies people!

Firstly I will give a brief summary of what each week in the Couch 2 5K programme entailed.

Week Five:

  • Brisk 5 Min walk at the beginning of each days programme.
  • Day 1: Jog 5 Mins, Walk 3 Mins, Jog 5 Mins, Walk for 3 mins, Jog 5 Mins
  • Day 2: Jog 8 Mins, Walk 5 Mins, Jog 8 Mins
  • Day 3: Jog for 20 Mins
  • Each day was followed by a 5 minute cool down.

Week Six:

  • Brisk 5 Min walk at the beginning of each days programme.
  • Day 1:Jog 5 Mins, Walk 3 Mins, Jog 8 Mins, Walk 3 Mins, Jog 5 Mins
  • Day 2: Jog 10 Mins, Walk 3 Mins, Jog 10 Mins
  • Day 3: Jog 22 Mins
  • Each day was followed by a 5 minute cool down

The end of Week Five was quite the experience. While I had found the previous two days hard, I had also found them bearable, so it felt like quite the extreme to hit 20 minutes of non-stop running on the last day.But the big thing is, I DID IT! I never ever ever thought that I could be someone who ran for 20 minutes straight, so that was quite a confidence and morale boost to end the week on.

It did feel strange though going into Week Six to drop back down to the short bursts of running but I guess it is time to get your body ready for the coming weeks. But I really found myself enjoying the running this week, perhaps it was from the high of last week, I’m not sure. But I had one day where I got home late and it was dark and rather than slacking off f I made myself go out  – even though it was so dark, it definitely felt autumnal. In fact my usual route was so dark I really couldn’t see the pavement at points – so that was potentially hazardous – somehow managed to survive.

But this week ended with another long run  of 22 mins, and once again it was hard and about the mid way point I really had to push through, but then I got into a rhythm or my brain just focused me through and I kept going and actually did feel that I could have gone on for longer by the end. I think next week steps up a gear, so that will be interesting to push through – but hey who knew I would actually be looking forward to it!.

xoxo

Leave a Reply

