Arts and Culture, Poetry

World Poetry Day

In honour of #WorldPoetryDay I thought I’d post a poem or two.

This one is an original, and I think in my head it is more of a song as I have a little internal tune every time I read it. So I am sorry you cant hear it properly, but this may have involved a video singing post – and I am not sure we should go there…

Are you breaking my heart?

Are you breaking my heart,
Or am I breaking yours?
We’ve fallen so far I cant’t tell any more.

Remember when love cam easy,
And your touch drove me crazy?
Did we stop trying, did we become lazy?

But the spark has faded,
And instead of being lovers,
We’re just jaded.

Poking the embers.
We’re going through the motions.
Skin to skin, sadness to sadness.
Don’t you remember.

Remember when love came easy.
And we lit the fires so quickly.
Did we quit trying, did we get lazy?

But it’s too late, our sparks faded.
And instead of being lovers,
We’re just jaded.

©alittlecornerofme – 21 March 2016

Leave a Reply

