General Musings

New Year Reflections

So, in preparation for 2017 I re-read my reflections post from 2016, and I thought I would see how well I had done in achieving some of my goals and thinking of where I want to go in 2017:

  1. Be a little selfish – I have and did get better at this, I still retained me and was kind but I wasn’t always 100% available, understanding etc. and I needed that. I needed to focus on me. Going in to 2017, perhaps a better goal would be to take actions for me, myself and I that take forward things I want to achieve.
  2. Don’t be scared to fail – I definitely felt less worried about perfection last year, and started re-connecting with my creative side again, my passions and this has reignited in me the feeling of wanting to do a job, career that I am passionate about and not just taking the easy, practical road. So in 2017 I think this is still a valid one for me to continue, don’t be scared to fail, try new things, take new chances when offered and don’t worry about having a picture perfect life. If I find a job I want to apply for, go for it, the only consequence you can truly have is regret.
  3. Blog better – I feel I did blog better, I wasn’t as consistent as I would have liked and then we had that pretty blank period of time, HOWEVER, some of this was out of my control. In 2017 I want to blog better and more consistently but also try to be more focused in my content, what I am sharing etc. so this may involve a bit of a blog re-haul at some point!
  4. Take more photos – This wasn’t one that I got round to doing as much as I would have liked, it fell by the wayside, I’m not sure why? I did Instagram more if that counts, but I want to do more photography with my camera. So in 2017 – the big camera comes out, and I was also looking at some classes to keep me going/inspired. Overall I just want to indulge one of my passions again.
  5. Keep on with healthy.- I did keep on with healthy, I kept losing weight, exercising and generally enhancing my well being overall, unfortunately unhealthy caught up with me when I got diagnosed with Ulcertative Colitis in September and mainly spent the latter half of the year in recovery. I haven’t put on anymore weight than where I was before going into hospital but my fitness levels aren’t quite the same. I feel lots stronger so 2017 for me is to really re-build my fitness and get back in to good food habits.
  6. Final thing – and perhaps more of a wish than a resolution, go abroad. I haven’t been out of the UK in five years. I need to see somewhere else in 2016 to sate my travel itches. – This would have happened, but unfortunately I didn’t do Brussels as I was in hospital. 😦 Hoping this won’t be the case in 2017!
  7. Get my career on track, this probably feeds in from all the other ones above, but I want to get my career on track. Really think about what makes me happy in a job and where, what I like doing etc. So I am going to start putting those steps and wheels in motion this year!
  8. Find the happy! After a strange 2016 I am determined to find the happy this year!

I can’t say that many of my goals have changed from 2016, but that wasn’t because I didn’t complete/fulfil them but because they are ongoing and they are still going forward. And that’s fine. It’s a good thing. I just need to get a little more back to me….

xoxo

4 thoughts on “New Year Reflections”

  1. Sounds like your goals are on track! I think people get disillusioned and thing things are an over night process, when really you have to take small steps to get somewhere. Well done on what you’ve achieved so far, especially with the adversity of your illness. I hope 2017 continues to be productive and gets you to where you want to be 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

